2.2 Government Domains

The URL or the Web Address of any Government website is also a strong indicator of its authenticity and status as being official. In today’s era with a large proliferation of websites, which resemble Government websites and fraudulently claim to provide reliable Government information and services, the role of a designated Government domain name assumes a lot of significance.


Hence, in compliance to the Government’s Domain Name Policy, all Indian Government websites MUST use ‘’ or ‘’ domain exclusively allotted and restricted to Government websites. The military institutions and organisations in India may also use ‘’ domain in place of or in addition to the in domain. Educational Institutions, and Research and Academic Institutions, which are otherwise eligible for registration under ‘’ may use ‘’, ‘’ or ‘’ domains. The above naming policy applies to all Government websites irrespective of where they are hosted.


Those Departments and Government entities that are using and have been publicising a domain name other than the above should take appropriate early action to register official government domain names.


The Domain Name Conventions, as specified in the ‘.IN Registration’ policy should be followed while registering a ‘’ Domain Name. A summary of the domain name conventions is given below:

Domain Naming Conventions:

  • Domains can contain the English-language letters ‘a’ through ‘z’, and the digits 0 through 9.
  • Departments can also use hyphens, but hyphens cannot begin or end a domain name. Also, two hyphens together are usually not permitted, and hyphens cannot appear in both the third and fourth positions.
  • Spaces and special characters (such as !, $, &, _ and so on) are not permitted.
  • The minimum length is 3 characters, and the maximum length is 63 characters (excluding extension “.”).
  • Domain names are not case-sensitive. (i.e. you may use a mix of upper or lower case letters).

Restrictions on the composition of domain names under .IN:

  • Generic names are not allowed (e.g. is not allowed).
  • For domains under, the domain must be derived from the name of the organisation name/entity. (e.g. Central Vigilance Commission can opt for a domain but NOT or
  • One and Two letter domain names are not allowed for registration (e.g.
  • The generic second level names (SLDs) of .in should not be used as third level names. (e.g. and are not allowed as mil and org are generic second level names under .in).


Obtaining a GOV.IN Domain for your website

National Informatics Centre (NIC) is the exclusive Registrar for GOV.IN domain names. The use of GOV.IN Domain is restricted to the constituents of Indian Government at various levels, right from Central, State/UT, District and Sub-District to block, village etc.

For detailed information and step-by-step procedure on how to register a .GOV.IN Domain, one may visit